Kublai Khan - "B.C"

Song Review

Kublai Khan - “B.C”

Written By: Jasmine

Raw vocals, chunky riffs, and memorable grooves, Kublai Khan gives us another sensational record; along with an exotic music video for “B.C”.

In Kublai Khan’s new music video “B.C”, it touches on religion, however it can be mild to some individuals, but not others. With ancient individuals gathering up around a fire, frontman of Kublai Khan, Matt Honeycutt, explains how it’s all demonstrating the importance of history and facts through religion. “The lyrics illustrate the use of religion to extinguish indigenous people on multiple continents. Illuminating the use of religion to justify slavery and erase cultural identities and origins.” We can all also agree with Matt’s statement we have a connection and link to our ancestors. In the video, roaring flames, ancestors raging around the fire, and the frontman giving his all when singing, it sets perfectly with the overall dark theme.

Elaborating on “B.C” lyrically, Matt is trying to discuss how religion is corrupted in multiple ways. From history towards even today by human beings. Depending on what everyone’s beliefs are, this can be argued or agreed with. Moving forward, Matt also explains how whether it’s being around the fire or gathering inside a venue, we all come together for music. To release all we have inside towards music. “Moving our bodies are all core ways that we as humans release our inner energy.” Meaning, music is an outlet for many of us and we use to release our inner vitality instead of suppressing it. It flows within all of us and even back to our own ancestors. With such a strong meaning, dark themed, and in “B.C”, we are also delivered addicting rhythms and touching base with the classic breakdowns that Kublai Khan never failed to give us.

Overall, “B.C” is energetic and intense in the best possible way and is easily given a 9/10. If you haven’t yet, check out Kublai Khan’s new record “Nomad” now and pick it up today! You will not be disappointed.

Posted on October 12, 2017 .

The LaFontaines - “Common Problem"

Album Review

The LaFontaines - “Common Problem”

Written by: Lexie

The music world needs more original, great music! Fortunately, we may have just what many music-lovers are looking for! The LaFontaines will demand your attention purely through their unique sound and well-constructed songs in their upcoming album, “Common Problem,” which is due to be released on October 27th!

The opening track, “Explosion,” immediately sets the tone for the rest of the album — it introduces the band’s talent for fusing hip-hop, rock, and pop-punk. “Common Problem” mellows out a bit with a more feel-good vibe to the piece. The blend of genres is still incredibly well done. 

“Torture” maintains a similar mood and tone, and this track makes for a smooth transition. 

In contrast, tracks like “Armour” integrate a little more edge into the album, and it has an incredible groove — standing out from all the rest. Immediately following “Armour,” “Atlas” switches right back to a playful, lighthearted sound — making the flow of this album slightly erratic, but in a way that keeps your interested piqued. 

“Asleep” wraps the album up with an instrumental-heavy piece that will have you jamming along in no time. Appropriately, this album ends on an upbeat note, that will leave you wanting more. 

Though The LaFontaines pull influence from bands like Twin Atlantic and Twenty One Pilots, the sound is so original and unlike anything you’ve ever heard before. The perfection of this unique sound earns this album an overall rating of 10 out of 10 — every song sounds like a hit single in the making. Truly, this band has created a collection that will appeal to many.

Posted on October 5, 2017 .

Young States - “Memory”

Music Video Review

Young States - “Memory”

Written by: Lexie

Admit it — you’re a sucker for a song that can hit you in the feels! Young States’ “Memory” is a track and video that many of us can relate to, and it packs a punch!

“Memory” is a heartfelt piece about a conflicting relationship with the past — though there’s a clear want to let go of it, it keeps resurfacing. The song is driven by beautiful vocals, while the instrumentals supplement the overall emotive tone. Though the track expresses pain, it is nevertheless empowering. 

The accompanying video is simple, but perfectly pairs with the song. We see a young woman desperate to “wipe” her memory. Her want seems urgent, and as the video progresses, we find out this is due to a dysfunctional relationship she’s had. Despite the nature of the relationship, she has a hard time letting go, because of the occasions where she lingers on the few good memories she has with him. Seriously needing relief, the girl makes the decision to actually have her memory wiped, allowing her to continue on with her life in peace. 

Overall, the song and track earn a solid 8 out of 10! Want to check the video out for yourself? Be sure to visit Young States’ official YouTube channel and let us know what YOU think!

Posted on October 5, 2017 .

The Ongoing Concept - "You Will Go"

Song Review

The Ongoing Concept - "You Will Go"

Written By: Kass

The Ongoing Concept has taken a step back in time with a huge nostalgia trip as we take a look at their video for their newest song, "You Will Go".

Fans of the band instantly picked up on the direction of the video as it showed the lead singer revisiting and reminiscing the past. The stylistic choices and inginuity in this video alone gives fans a chance to see that their newest album, "Places", is to be much anticipated. Several easter eggs are in this video, and if you're not a fan, you wouldn't quite understand why that's such a big deal!

If you watched this video and thought it looked a bit strange, you guessed right! The band shot this with a high frame rate, but didn't accordingly adjust their shutter speed. Normally, you want the shutter speed to be 2x your frame rate. It would be the same effect as you'd see on TV if you turned on "true motion". Don't worry, Dawson did it on purpose. The forest, the tunnel, the bar, the abandoned buildings, and the construction sites were all ideas used in the band's previous work, and the performance footage at the end is to symbolize where they are now. It's a build up of the last 7 years and where they ended up in this moment in time.

Dawson explains that life is precious and not only this song, but this whole upcoming album is portraying how the places you have been make you who you are and the places you will go will make you who you become. Every song on the record is an open interpretation of all the experiences he has faced in his 25 years of life. They are the epitome of their band name because they are an ongoing concept.

The song earns a 7 out of ten for its creativeness and ideas. If you are looking for a trip down memory lane, "Places" is due out October 26th!

Posted on September 29, 2017 and filed under Song Review.

Makeout - "Ride It Out"

Song Review

Makeout - "Ride It Out"

Written by:

Kass Pop Punk is alive and well in the Rise Records family! Rhode Island quartet, Makeout, has released a brand new song and video from their debut album. If you got that 5 Seconds of Summer vibe from these guys, your intuition is on point because the guys did a lot of recording and writing with John Feldman, who worked with 5SOS, and they worked with 5SOS’s own, Ashton Irwin and Calum Hood.

The song is a typical pop punk hit that has you singing along to the chorus and relating to the verses on every level. The smooth vocals make for an easy transition in every aspect of the track while the breakdowns and musicality portrayed by each member gets us nodding our heads to the beat.  The video is packed full of plot footage that could be turned into an entire video later on. Complete with cute boys and a beautiful classic convertible red Mustang, this video has us missing those summer days when you could put the top down on the car and cruise around with the people who meant the most.

Performance clips filled in the gaps between the video footage, which had us appreciating such great talent while showcasing that these boys are ready for stadium-sized tours already. The mood was set easily between relaxing and kicking back to making the most of the moment and riding out that high feeling of being whole and present.

The video and track earn an 8 out of ten for the simplicity in style and stature with catchy tunes and noteworthy talent. The band’s debut album, “The Good Life”, drops via Rise Records on September 29th. With an entire record full of songs just like “Ride It Out”, these boys will be playing stadiums with 5SOS is no time!

Posted on September 29, 2017 and filed under Song Review.

The Ongoing Concept - “You Will Go”

Music Video Review

The Ongoing Concept - “You Will Go”

Written by: Lexie

In this day and age, it seems like EVERYTHING has been possibly created with music — but that’s where you’re wrong! The Ongoing Concept manages to incorporate a common lyrical theme into a uniquely orchestrated song. If you’re looking to spice up your playlist, “You Will Go” may be just the edge you need!

The song itself is incredibly dynamic — it’s as if several unique pieces have been welded together into one cohesive track. The sound is a wild ride, as it takes you from upbeat-toned verses, to heavy choruses, and back. Because of this unique structure and sound, the song has something for everyone. Lyrically, it’s about how life and experiences shape you into the person you eventually become, which itself can be a hectic journey — making the accompanying music all the more appropriate. 

The video highlights the struggle that comes with shaping ourselves with depictions of solitude. We see the lead singer roaming alone outside, seeming to find (figuratively and literally) a path. He is contemplative, and a bit distressed. The uncertainty seems to be eased when he reaches the rest of his band — having found his direction. 

Be sure to check out the video for yourself on Solid State Records’ YouTube channel! If you like what you hear, the song will be featured on The Ongoing Concept’s upcoming album, “Places,” which is due to be released on October 6th!

 

Posted on September 27, 2017 and filed under Music Video Review.

Motionless In White - Necessary Evil"

Song Review
Motionless In White - "Necessary Evil"
Written by: Tori

A party for the living dead is upon us, as Motionless In White release a brand new music video for their track, "Necessary Evil", off of their brand new album, Graveyard Shift. Iconic melody of "It's My Party" by Lesley Gore, or other known for the Melanie Martinez remake with "Pity Party", Motionless adds a synth twist- probably our favorite one off of this list! Lyrics with "it's my party and I'll die when I want to" can be taken and reflected upon in numbers of ways. With scenes of fire, drinking, and opening lyrics of "Strip off the weight of morality and check it at the door"; one is open to the idea MIW share of letting loose, setting your saintliness aside, and being open to the thrill of life because we only truly live one day at a time (so we should make it a hellraising and sensational life)! One can also take away the idea of excorticating that layer of innocence and sweetness to enable us to confidently speak our mind for how we truly feel, while also sharing the idea of knowing your self worth. This is exemplified through playful lyrics of "Imma have my fucking cake and eat yours too". Though the lyrics and tone is very light-hearted and flirtatious, it's pure tongue-in-cheek. Many who say that MIW's lyrics are solely risqué or nothing more than a catchy tune are missing out on the big picture!


Lyrics, "Forget everything you think you knew of who I used to be. I look much better as the enemy", alone show that the writer has been in a toxic relationship of some sorts where they felt taken advantage of. Now that the tables have turned, the individual finally feels the grace of superiority and understands the corruption of ascendancy of one leads to the pain of both parties. That equality in a relationship is important, with the consequence of one becoming the monster they, and the other person, thought they would ever become. This perfectly translates within the lyrics, "the monster you've made is wearing the crown. I'll be the king and you be clown". Showing that the hurting party now has dominance over their emotions, not allowing their cares to mask the pain present anymore. Representing that they will no longer accept being held down and tortured. It also is demonstrated in the video with lead singer, Chris Motionless, holds clowns on a leash. 

This followed with emotions of anger and bitterness. "I want you low. I won't let you die. I'll keep you alive, just to remind you of what you are not". Anyone who's ever suffered can relate. No matter how much you good you carry within you, there is that remorse and sorrow of wanting to wish poorly on someone - it is only human.

Many may not pick up on this if they are not familiar with a few faces in the video, but one could find symbolism in drinking scenes. Some individuals within the metal/rock community featured were straight-edge and a part of the drinking scene. This can be commentary on how one may change to be someone they're not with another's control over them, or after going through such pain.

A really well produced video with a deep message kept our attention, for sure! Sass is at its all time high with Chris snarking on a throne, fire whipping in all directions, and attitude spilling out of every second of the video.

The imagery alone is bold, daring, sensual, loud, and dominating. Check out Motionless in White's brand new music video for "Necessary Evil".

This video receives an 8 out of 10, with the track receiving a 10 out 10.

Pick up your copy of Graveyard Shift: http://miw.lnk.to/GraveyardShift  (featured on Spotify, iTunes, Amazon, GooglePlay, Apple Music, YouTube, Deezer, F.Y.E. and also on their official website).

And grab some tickets to their upcoming tour and grab some merch while you're at it, at: http://motionlessinwhite.net 

Posted on September 27, 2017 and filed under Music Video Review.

Melanie Martinez - "Mad Hatter" 

Music Video Review

Melanie Martinez - "Mad Hatter" 

Written by: Lexie

New videos from Melanie Martinez will NEVER get old! The young singer has just released her latest video for "Mad Hatter" -- and it gets a little crazy 

In true Martinez fashion, she takes a lighthearted theme inspired by childhood, and utilizes it to express something far much darker. Martinez creates intricate metaphors that speak volumes, but are delivered through (mostly) innocent imagery. 

For this particular song, Martinez seems to be relying on the well-known fantastical nature of Alice In Wonderland to express feelings of instability. The obvious reference to the "Mad Hatter," as well as references to Alice and the "blue caterpillar" sets an overriding playful tone for the entire piece. 

The song also appears to allude to misunderstandings of mental illness, particularly through lyrics like "Where is my prescription?/Doctor, doctor please listen," and "Tell the psychiatrist something is wrong." The music similarly also finds a balance between lighthearted and grim tones. 

The video lightens the nature of the lyrical content in some ways -- including its use of pastel colors and fuzzy animals -- but reinforces the gravity of the theme by also portraying symptoms of psychosis, violence, and anxiety. 

Overall, "Mad Hatter" earns a 9 out of 10! Haven't seen the video for yourself yet? Be sure to check it out and let us know what YOU think!

 

Posted on September 25, 2017 and filed under Music Video Review.

Asking Alexandria - "Into The Fire"

"Into the Fire” - @askingalexandria
Written by: Kass

 AA has dropped a brand-new music video and single titled, “Into the Fire” and all the hype surrounding the release was well worth the wait! Follow Break Free as we head straight ‘Into the Fire’! 

This newest video is nothing short of sinful, yet powerful and packed full of adrenaline-fueled dare devil stunts. It’s Sin City meets Fast and the Furious!

The drumbeat can be faintly heard through the effects, but after a few seconds it kicks into overdrive – literarily and figuratively. A black Mustang kicks into gear as the beat drops and we see Danny Worsnop behind the wheel. The heavy drumming and the gritty ‘whoa-oh’s’ take center stage and create a rhythm that’s easy to follow.

 This entire track showcases Danny’s clean vocal range in several different aspects. At some points, his vocals are packed full of raw emotion and come off as shy and fragile. His vocals change again, but become powerful and strong. Nobody needs to worry! Asking Alexandria isn’t going soft, nor have they forgotten their signature – that beautiful musical breakdown right over the bridge.

 Shot completely in black and white, the video may be too graphic for some, viewer’s discretion is advised. Not only does Danny run that beautiful car all over Hell’s half acre, he was also involved in multiple car accidents, high speed chases, and he hit Ben Bruce, leaving his dead body in the road. The video ends on a cliffhanger that raises all sorts of questions! SPOILER ALERT!

Two identical cars are shown racing towards each other, playing chicken with the other. Neither moves out of the way and they collide in the center of the intersection. Slow motion effects render the time to slow down and you watch the whole accident in slow motion. As the video ends, you don’t see who was in the car, if they were okay, or what happens. A screen pops up at the end and says, “To Be Continued….” Does this mean more videos? Does it mean more singles and concept ideas? We have no idea, but it has us burning up with questions!

Asking Alexandria earns an 8 out 10 for their creative work. The new album will be debuting on December 15th, but they have yet to release any other details. We don't even get a name! We can’t wait to see how hot the rest of this album will be! Stay tuned with BFC for future details/reviews/news! You can now get a digital download of “Into the Fire” through iTunes and Amazon! PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING! When you purchase this single through Amazon, it will come with an additional track, a radio edit of the single, which shaves nearly 30 seconds off the original version.

Posted on September 23, 2017 and filed under Music Video Review.

Off Guard - "Strawberry Moon"

Song Review

Off Guard - "Strawberry Moon"

Written by: Lexie

Not all breakups end with vicious arguments or a thirst for revenge -- it gets complicated! Off Guard, an up-and-coming pop punk band, gives us a track that illustrates a scenario that veers from the typical bitter break-up. 

"Strawberry Moon" is far from solemn, but in no way celebratory. It conveys a fondness and appreciation for what was, but also acknowledges the need for an end. This song is passionate and driven, but the delivery is softened with an accepting tone, and a pop-punk sound that is classic and familiar. 

If you need a song to lift your hopes during a hard break-up, this may be exactly what you need to level your mind. 

Want to check it out for yourself? Off Guard will be releasing "Strawberry Moon” as a single on September 29th, so mark your calendars! If you like what you hear, stay tuned! An EP is anticipated to be following, so be prepared for future announcements!

Posted on September 22, 2017 and filed under Song Review.